ign woes

An open forum to ask members questions about old time spark ignition engines.

Moderators: Frank Klenk, SteveM

ign woes

Postby collie » Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:29 pm

Can anyone tell me just what causes radio interefence in ign systems?
Is it the plug firing,the elec current in the plug lead,the metal points banging together,the elect field in the coil?How do I stop the interefence?Tried Fm,PPM,PCM,resistors every where,still get the ocasional radio hit,high speed duration models wont survive this glitch. HELP
collie

Postby loucrane » Wed Jun 29, 2005 12:33 am

collie,

I'm no expert, but the coil field collapse, the hi-voltage lead to the plug, and the plug spark are all pretty intense EM spectrum emitters.

Resistor plug leads help in some cases, according to instructions I've seen. (I prefer control-line - it is directly tactile. No RX glitches.) Possibly orienting the coil differently, or finding a way to shield the 'hot' spark pieces from the antenna, RX and servo wiring.

There must be a way, as there are a lot of spark R/C models flying...
loucrane

Postby Frank Klenk » Wed Jun 29, 2005 6:22 pm

Lou is right, these all cause problems. I put all my ignition stuff (coil etc) as far forward as possible. Then I mount the receiver as far rearward as possible. You must keep these components isolated. I also use the transistorized switching system for the points, they work well. Also check your spark plug wire, make sure the insulation is intact, if not replace it. Hope this helps.

Frank :)
Frank Klenk

Ign Woes

Postby Ken McClenahan » Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:27 pm

From an electrical engineer (I are one): the problem is cuased by the spark that is created every time the points are opened. The solution is to use a capacitor (the old fashioned word was condensor) wired across the points. The capacitor short circuits the high frequency components of the arc between the contacts.