new to spark ignition help please

An open forum to ask members questions about old time spark ignition engines.

Moderators: Frank Klenk, SteveM

new to spark ignition help please

Postby jim paton » Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:32 am

I have just bought an O&R spark ignition engine.I think it is a 19.I am totally new to this, so I have a few questions.I am in England.What fuel should I use.Is 3 parts petrol to 1 part oil correct.Other listings mention 70 grade oil.Is this SAE 70.The nearest I can think of here is Hypoid gear oil .What about using 2 stroke oil as for my strimmer and lawn mower.They normally run on a 25/1 mix. The engine came with a cylindrical coil and lead to the spark plug.What else do I need.Is there a commercial transistorised set up I can buy? Where would I get a new spark plug if I needed it? What do I do with the advance /retard lever for staring and running.Thanks in anticipation, Jim.
jim paton

Postby loucrane » Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:46 pm

Jim,

You should be able to run your engine on glow engine fuel, with 25% (preferably all) castor, and no or little (say, 5%) nitromethane. FAI fuel (80% methanol, 20% oil) likely needs added castor to bring total oil fraction to at least 25%.

Gear lubes are very different from the types used for high speed sliding contact as in piston on sleeve, shaft in bearing, crank and gudgeon pins in connecting rod. There may be vintage motorcycle shops around which carry heavy, single grade motor oils. And, yes, 70 Weight is the SAE 70 spec. 3 to 1 (petrol to SAE70) should work. For early attempts, perhaps a bit more than 25% oil? the spark engines were designed to run on the heavy motor oil and petrol, and in these proportions. Modern oils and pre-blended 2-cycle fuels for lawn mowers, etc., are more likely to cause early and severe damage to an O&R engine.